The Carpathians are one of Europe's largest mountain ranges, a unique natural treasure of great beauty and ecological value, and home of the headwaters of major rivers. They also constitute a major ecological, economic, cultural, recreational and living environment in the heart of Europe, shared by numerous people and countries.

The Carpathian Convention is a subregional treaty to foster the sustainable development and the protection of the Carpathian region. It has been signed in May 2003 by seven Carpathian States (Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Ukraine).      Read more


The Outlook on climate change adaptation in the Central Asian mountains  online English summary

Waste Management Outlook for Mountain Regions Sources and Solutions online

Investing in Sustainable Mountain Development. Opportunities, Resources and Benefits online



Ecotourism Workshop for local handicraft entrepreneurs and rural tourism actors in the field of sustainable tourism development

Read more …

Mountain Biodiversity Platform is online

EVENT: Mountains of Waste!

Please celebrate with us the International Mountain Day 2016 on 12 December 2016 and share your views and experiences with regards to waste issues in mountains!

Read more …

X° European Mountain Convention


Mountains’ vulnerability to climate change: how can people and territories adapt and mitigate its effects?

Read more …